Foundation Stage

Our Foundation stage is full of learning, enjoyment and activity!

Just as the rest of the school follows the national curriculum, the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS) is a comprehensive framework which sets the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to 5.

All Early years teachers must follow this framework and it helps to standardise the care that both nursery (F1) and reception children (F2) receive. Following the guidelines given, the EYFS enables early years teachers to create a learning and development profile on all the children they care for. This gives parents and Year 1 primary teachers reliable and accurate information about the levels of development for each child. With this in place, a well planned and effective curriculum can be created that meets the needs of the child.

There are seven areas of development and these are:

1. Personal, Social and Emotional development

2. Communication & Language

3. Mathematics

4. Knowledge of the World

5. Physical development

6. Literacy

7. Expressive arts and design

Each area is further broken down into smaller sections (17 in total) that teachers can use to monitor and assess the child’s development. The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning, this learning is done in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning are equally important and are inter-connected.

School Year 2019-2020

Spring 2 Letter

Spring 2 overview

Spring 1 letter

Spring 1 overview

Autumn 2 letter

Autumn 2

FS Autumn Letter

FS Autumn Overview


Let us know what you think